I had my first real Whole30 craving on day 2. It started out as a small little niggle, but today, day 3, it's a full on annoyance.
I WANT A FREAKING GLASS OF WINE.
I knew it would happen. It was inevitable. I love wine. I have a glass or two per week. Not a ton, really. But I do enjoy a glass with dinner and friends. I like to sip it as my directing ideas come to me while I'm staging. I love the taste, the smell and the way it feels on my tongue.
I'm not regretting starting the Whole30 just because of wine, and I'm certainly not going to give in, but I was just sitting with my script and a thought popped into my head that I wish I had a glass of wine right now. Then I reminded myself that I'm not drinking wine for a while and then, because my brain is really a total child and will throw fits and things, all I wanted in the Whole Wide World was a glass of wine. The need grew stronger and stronger until all I could think about was wine.
And I know exactly why I feel this way, it's because I cannot have it. I'm rebellious like that.
Now, Last Year Jenny would have struggled and struggled til she had a glass of wine and then she'd figure the entire Whole30 was bust and just quit. Now Jenny, me, is stronger than that, but I am glad I removed the wine from the house a few days ago... just in case.
Other than that, things are going well. I feel pretty great (other than an occasional feeling of malaise when I get hungry) and I feel a difference in my body. I feel like my tummy rolls are slightly smaller than they were before. I began directing a new theater show, so I am busy and have things to think about besides food and wine, which is good. Distractions are good.
Wine.
Ugh.
No comments:
Post a Comment